[RPG] 5e Shapeshifting Druid rules


I'm a bit confused with some of the rules stated in the Player's Handbook about Wild Shape. Specifically, my question is about taking damage while in animal form: if my health drops to one HP, I revert back to humanoid form and take the remaining damage.

Does all the damage I would have taken in animal form transfer over to my actual humanoid health?

Best Answer

Your assumption is not correct, only the damage left over from the attack is transferred to your humanoid health. (Think of Wild Shape as a type of "overshield" or "bonus health")


You have 12 HP in your beast form. The barbarian that you are fighting hits you dealing 15 points of damage. This leaves 3 HP left over. So that remaining 3HP is dealt to your character's health pool.

Here is an example from the RAW

When you transform, you assume the beasts hit points and Hit Dice. When you revert to your normal form, you return to the number of hit points you had before you transformed. However, if you revert as a result of dropping to 0 hit points, any excess damage carries over to your normal form. For example, if you take 10 damage in animal form and only have 1 hit point left, you revert [to normal shape] and take 9 damage. As long as the excess damage doesn't reduce your normal form to 0 hit points, you aren't knocked unconscious.