[RPG] AD&D scrolls and learning spells


Can a magic-user who finds a scroll in a dungeon take said scroll and copy the spell to his/her spell book so that he/she can prepare that spell in the future?
Also if the character finds the scroll of a spell he/she already knows can the magic-user use said scroll normally?

Best Answer

When you find a spell scroll, you have two options:

  1. Scribe the spell into your spellbook (which consumes the scroll), which makes the spell available for you to memorize.
  2. Cast the spell from the scroll (which consumes the scroll).

So the answer to your question is 'Yes'.