[RPG] AoO and Touch spells on Allies


We play a mainly pathfinder game (occassional and as time goes on fewer feats from 3.5) and we still keep coming across things that have changed between 3.5 and pathfinder.

Casting a spell triggers an AoO (unless you cast on the defensive) but does touching an ally to deliver the spell trigger as well? A pathfinder RAW answer would be good. I am sure in 3.5 it did but cannot find anything in pathfinder.

I have found something that says if I use a full round action to touch upto 6 ally it does trigger (if you can fit an enermy in that ruck) but how about just a standard action and just one.


Best Answer

No, touching an ally does not provoke AoO.

Pathfinder SRD, Combat (emphasis mine):

"Armed" Unarmed Attacks: Sometimes a character's or creature's unarmed attack counts as an armed attack. A monk, a character with the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, a spellcaster delivering a touch attack spell, and a creature with natural physical weapons all count as being armed

Armed melee attacks do not provoke an AoO.

This is explicitly repeated in Touch spells in combat section:

Touch Attacks: Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack and therefore does not provoke attacks of opportunity. The act of casting a spell, however, does provoke an attack of opportunity.

The exception to this is a full-round action to touch 6 allies, which always provokes an AoO.