[RPG] Are creatures with magic immunity affected by sanctuary

pathfinder-1espells

As last week's game ended in a tough spot, I need rules advice to make critical tactical decisions, since I'm new to pathfinder and we are playing a pretty hard campaing.

Our lvl 3-4 party of 5 is facing a small and nerfed version of a stone golem, and I think our only chance is to run at this point. I plan to make a last stand with Sanctuary to at least allow my team to survive. However, the golem is inmune to magic.

RAW, would a Stone Golem's Immunity to Magic make him not affected by Sanctuary, or would it need to make a Will save as any other creature?

Thanks for your help!

Best Answer

Yes, it is affected. Although the immunity rule is somewhat open-ended, the general idea is that a creature cannot be harmed by or gain conditions from whatever they are immune to. The stone golem's ability is special:

Immunity to Magic (Ex) A stone golem is immune to any spell or spell-like ability that allows spell resistance. In addition, certain spells and effects function differently against the creature, as noted below.

It then lists some damage and debuff spells that have secondary effects.

Luckily for you, Sanctuary does not allow spell resistance, and does not impose a specific condition or harm an attacking creature. Additionally, none of the golem's construct traits apply to the effects of Sanctuary, and so it would still need to pass the Will save to hit you. Good luck!