[RPG] Are normal spell components consumed by the spell


I was reading through the basic rules and noticed that the only time spell components were explicitly stated as being consumed was when they had a gp value attached to them. For example:

Arcane Lock
Components: V, S, M (gold dust worth at least 25 gp, which the spell consumes)


Arcane Eye
Components: V, S, M (a bit of bat fur)

Does this mean that cheap spell components are not consumed when a spell is cast?

Best Answer

The components are only consumed when specified.

Player's Handbook p. 203 (or here in the basic rules):

Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.

If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell.