[RPG] Are Vengeful Ancestors’ damage-dealing reactions enough to sustain the Barbarian’s rage


To sustain their rage at the end of their turn, a Barbarian must have attacked a hostile creature since their last turn or must have taken damage since then. [PHB, pg. 48]

In the level 14 feature of the Primal Path of the Ancestral Guardian, "Vengeful Ancestors," the spirits called by the Barbarian's rage may do force damage to a hostile creature. Mechanically, the Barbarian is using their reaction to cause this damage. [XGtE, pg. 10]

Is the fact that the Barbarian is using their reaction to cause damage to a hostile creature enough to sustain their rage? Or is this insufficient because the damage is not being caused directly by the Barbarian?

Best Answer

“If there's ever any question whether something you're doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you're making an attack roll, you're making an attack.”

Vengeful Guardians does not make an attack roll therefore it’s not an attack therefore it won’t maintain rage. Of course, if you still take damage from the attack that triggered it that will maintain the rage.