[RPG] attack the target of the Overrun


Simply put: Can I attack the same creature I choose to use the Overrun combat maneuver on?

The entry for the Overrun maneuver states it can be done as part of a charge, does that mean I can attack the target creature after I overrun them at the end of my charge (assuming it is successful)? Or is the charge "attack" spent making the check to move through that creature's space, leaving me unable to attack?

The ideal situation I'm curious about is whether or not I can overrun an opponent, knock them prone, then gain that bonus against them on an attack while potentially setting up for a flank with an ally who can follow after me. I know there is a feat in one of the Companion books that allows an attacker to knock their target prone, stop in front of them and attack with an unarmed strike or natural weapon.

Does the existence of this feat mean that I cannot, rules as written, pass through an opponent's square and possibly knock them prone via overrun, and then attack?

Best Answer

The way I interpret overrun is that it is just allowing you to do your Overrun at any point during a move/charge, but it takes up your standard action or the "attack" that round during the charge (it doesn't give you some free standard action, as is proven by the existence of Charge Through, which does). The 3.5e Overrun simply said "as a standard action taken during your move", I think the intent of the Pathfinder rule was to just say "during a move, or during a charge, that too."

So you can Overrun someone during a move, or during a charge (double move, +2 to hit, -2 AC). You don't get another standard attack normally, so barring greater overrun or mythic shenanigans, you can't also do a melee attack on them or anyone else - but you can keep on moving past them, which is the special thing this maneuver is trying to give you. You get to bowl over (overrun) someone while on your way to fight someone else with your next round's actions - or, stop and fight them prone, that's fine too, but there's no free attacks/standard actions as part of the base combat maneuver.

Keep in mind the overrun target can choose to get out of the way instead of being overrun, which could let you still attack someone else you were charging at/moving towards.

Related Topic