[RPG] Can a bard cast Identify as a ritual without having the Ritual Caster feat


Well I'm really confused by how rituals work, and the idea of the Ritual Caster feat/wizard bonus.

If I learn the spell identify, it seems to me I can cast this as a ritual to not spend a spell slot?

If I could, what is the big idea of the Ritual Caster feat (PHB p. 169)? Just the ability to learn 2 more spells?

Best Answer

For a bard, yes. The feat can be taken by other classes though

In order to cast a spell as a ritual a feature must allow you to do so. Bards have Ritual Casting as part of their Spellcasting feature:

You can cast any bard spell you know as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag.

... but not every spellcaster has this. Some examples include Eldritch Knights and Sorcerers. Also, non-casters can take the feat as long as they have the requires ability scores.