[RPG] Can a Battle Master fighter continue to use maneuvers after they have spent all their superiority dice


Can a Battle Master fighter continue to use their maneuvers after spending all of their superiority dice? Or can they not do any more maneuvers until they finish a short or long rest?

Best Answer

It is not clearly stated, but Superiority dice are required to use Maneuvers.

The rules say:

When you choose this archetype at 3rd level, you learn maneuvers that are fueled by special dice called superiority dice.

emphasis mine

Maneuvers tell you to "expend one superiority die" or similar wording as part of the description of the effect, but it does not make it clear that the maneuver is contingent on the expenditure in the wording. This could be better edited. However, the general wording, and the textual reference that says that maneuvers are "fueled" by superiority dice, make the intention fairy clear.