[RPG] Can a cantrip be cast using a higher-level spell slot


Can a cantrip be cast using a higher-level spell slot?

Specifically, I'm thinking of casting Shocking Grasp as a 1st-level spell, to trigger the Storm sorcerer's Heart of the Storm feature (Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide, p. 137):

[…] whenever you start casting a spell of 1st level or higher that deals lightning or thunder damage, stormy magic erupts from you. This eruption causes creatures of your choice that you can see within 10 feet of you to take lightning or thunder damage (choose each time this ability activates) equal to half your sorcerer level.

Best Answer

No. There is specific sage advice on the matter:

@JeremyECrawford like most spells can a known cantrip be cast at a higher spell slot lvl. Aka sacred flame lvl 1 for 2d8 radiant dmg
— redwoodguardian (@redwoodguardian) August 24, 2015

No, since cantrips don't use spell slots. https://t.co/MKpg8oozyf
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) August 24, 2015