[RPG] Can a caster cast a sleep spell on themselves

dnd-5esleepspells

This question was asked for version 2E and the answer was yes. It's an interesting scenario as the caster is being attacked by multiple low hit point creatures. Can the caster cast sleep on themselves?

Best Answer

No, but they can be affected by their own Sleep spell

They can't cast it on themselves because the target of the Sleep is "a point you choose within range" and it affects creatures within 20 feet of that point. If the caster is within that area they can be affected by their own spell.

This applies to all area of effect spells, not just Sleep.