[RPG] Can a character take a free action outside of their turn


Free actionsD20PFSRD in Pathfinder take almost no time. But can they be performed outside of one's turn or in response to some trigger?

  • Scenario 1: Can a Barbarian enter rage in response to taking
    damage outside of her turn? Likewise, can anyone drop prone in
    response to being attacked from a distance?
  • Scenario 2: Can a Barbarian enter rage in response to taking
    damage during her turn (for example, as a result of an attack of

Best Answer

No; free actions are normally taken only on your turn.

Under the free actions section in the SRD, check out the rules for speaking.


In general, speaking is a free action that you can perform even when it isn't your turn. [emphasis mine]

There's also the sentence under the free actions section of Actions in Combat:

You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally.

These two phrases imply that normal free actions are only taken on your turn, unless the particular action states otherwise.

So for your scenarios,

  1. No and no. These are both "normal" free actions (i.e. they don't say you can perform them when it isn't your turn).
  2. Yes, but it needn't be in response to the attack. She can enter the rage at any time during her turn since it is a free action.
Related Topic