[RPG] Can a Divine Soul Sorcerer learn a cleric cantrip at their first sorcerer level


Can a Divine Soul Sorcerer learn a cleric cantrip at their first sorcerer level, when they create the character? Or only when they learn a new cantrip at a higher level?

Best Answer

Arguably, yes

Divine Magic

Your link to the divine allows you to learn spells normally associated with the Cleric class. When your Spellcasting feature lets you learn a sorcerer cantrip or a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher, you can choose the new spell from the cleric spell list or the sorcerer spell list. You must otherwise obey all the restrictions for selecting the spell, and it becomes a sorcerer spell for you.


Sorcerer Spellcasting

At first level, you know four cantrips of your choice from the sorcerer spell list.

A literal reading of the Spellcasting Feature says that you know your starting spells, not that you learn them. But, of course, you had to learn them to know them.

I can find no official interpretation/tweet on the semantics of know/learn so I believe the ruling would come down to the GM. I spent an embarrassingly long time combing through Sage Advice and flipping through the PHB and XGtE looking for evidence for/against allowing Cleric cantrips to be taken by a level 1 Divine Soul Sorcerer. Like, I kind of hate myself for how far down the rabbit hole I went.

Suffice to say, none of the arguments are supported by anything other than conjecture of intent. So it's GM's call, I'd say. But I'd also say this: we're talking about cantrips at level 1 and 2. I've probably spent more time trying to figure out the answer than you will spend as a level 1 character lol....sob.