[RPG] Can a Dragonborn with an Extra Attack use both their breath weapon and their melee attack


My Dragonborn character is about to get the Extra Attack ability and I'm curious if it can be used with the breath attack. Since a Dragonborn can only use the attack once per short rest I know he can't use it twice, but could he use his breath weapon and then make a melee attack?

I've only seen extra attacks used for the same weapon attacking twice for PCs so I'm not sure if a Dragonborn can use both their breath weapon and melee weapon as an extra attack.

Best Answer

No, Extra Attack can only be used to attack. Extra Attack says:

Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.

Furthermore, the Dragonborn's Breath Weapon ability says:

You can use your action to exhale destructive energy.

If Breath Weapon gave you, for example, a special ranged weapon you could use to make attacks with, this would work. But what it gives you is a special action. You can use that action to use your Breath Weapon, or you can use the Attack action. There's no way to do both with a single action.