[RPG] Can a Gnome Ranger use his Animal Companion as a Mount


We have a new player in our group playing a forest gnome ranger. Now that he has hit 3rd level, he is wondering if his character is small enough / light enough to ride a panther animal companion as a mount.

Can a gnome ranger use his animal companion as a mount?

Best Answer

Yes, if your DM thinks a panther has the right anatomy.

The gnome is Small (PHB 37) and the panther Medium (PHB 308). The relevant rule says:

A willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and that has an appropriate anatomy can serve as a mount (PHB 198)

Your ranger's animal companion is certainly willing. It does depend on whether your DM agrees that a panther has the relevant anatomy, but riding felines is a solid fantasy trope even if it is 'unrealistic' to think felines have the proper back.

Respect to @SevenSidedDie for the links above. By the Power of Grayskull may his comment never be removed from this answer!