[RPG] Can a level 2 Warlock take one level in rogue, then continue advancing as a warlock


I recently "upgraded" to D&D 5th edition. I decided to play a warlock. However, now I would like to be proficient in Stealth, and a warlock can not have this proficiency.

I am Warlock level 2. Is it possible to now multiclass into rogue, take just one rogue level, and then continue advancing as a warlock afterwards?

My stats are as follows: Str 11, Dex 18, Con 13, Int 11, Wis 6, Cha 18.

Best Answer

Yes, you can multiclass and take one Rogue level

You can multi-class just to gain 1 level of Rogue since you meet the requirements. As noted in the basic Multiclassing rules, you need a Dexterity of 13 and Charisma of 13 in order to multi-class from Warlock into a Rogue.


Have you looked at backgrounds?

This is normally something done at character creation, but you could have a word with your DM to see if he is amenable to changing your character.

Each background tends to give proficiency in two skills (as well as tools and/or language). If all you really want is proficiency in Stealth, then you could find a background that grants this such as the Criminal background. If you can't find a background that you like you could also work with your DM to make a custom background (see PHB p. 124-126) that fits your character and grants proficiency in Stealth.