[RPG] Can a level 3 cleric prepare and cast his 3rd-level domain spell


As a level 3 cleric with the Darkness domain, I think I get the ability to cast deeper darkness because the spell is listed as a 3rd-level domain spell. Yet as a level 3 cleric I can only cast 2nd-level cleric spells. Am I correct in assuming that domain slots are not bound by the same restrictions as the typical cleric spells? Simply put, can I cast deeper darkness if I'm a level 3 cleric if I prepare deeper darkness in a domain slot, or do I have to wait until I can cast 3rd-level cleric spells before I can prepare and cast it?

Also, is that deeper darkness domain spell bound by the same preparation and casting restrictions as other cleric spells? That is, "to prepare or cast a spell, a cleric must have a Wisdom score equal to at least 10 + the spell level," so must I have a Wisdom score of 13 to prepare and cast this domain spell?

Best Answer

A cleric doesn't gain early access to his domain spells

The spell deeper darkness is a 3rd-level spell for a cleric, even if the cleric has the Darkness domain. (In a domain's entry after Domain Spells the 1st, 2nd, and so on aren't the cleric's level but the spell's level.)

A cleric must be at least level 5 to prepare deeper darkness, and the cleric must meet the minimum Wisdom score of 13 to prepare and to cast that 3rd-level spell as described in the cleric's Spells class feature.