[RPG] Can a Monk remain invisible with Cloak of the Shadows while dealing damage with Witch Bolt


I'm designing a monk/warlock character and have noticed a potential synergy.

Cloak of the Shadows says:

When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible. You remain invisible until you make an attack, cast a spell, or are in an area of bright light. 

Is the action to deal damage with witch bolt (after the initial casting) considered an attack? Do any other rules limit the usage of this synergy to remain invisible while continually dealing damage?

Best Answer

Action Economy will prevent this combination.

Witch bolt states:

...you can use your action deal 1d12 lightning damage to the target automatically. The spell ends if you use your action to do anything else.

Emphasis is mine, to point out the problem- if you go invisible first, casting the spell ends your invisibility. If you go invisible after the initial casting of witch bolt, using your action to do so, you end the spell.