[RPG] Can a Pact of the Tome warlock scribe a scroll from their ritual book that they don’t otherwise know


Say I’m a Pact of the Tome warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation. I have Detect Magic in my Book of Shadows as a ritual spell. I otherwise don’t know Detect Magic.

Can I make a scroll of Detect Magic?

I’m pretty sure the answer is no, since a ritual spell in my book doesn’t count as a spell known, but it feels a little strange since I can cast the spell as much as I want (albeit as a ritual).

Best Answer

No, they can't; only known spells can be scribed into scrolls.

The optional rules on scribing a spell scroll state (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 133; emphasis mine):

Scribing a spell scroll takes an amount of time and money related to the level of the spell the character wants to scribe, as shown in the Spell Scroll Costs table. In addition, the character must have proficiency in the Arcana skill and must provide any material components required for the casting of the spell. Moreover, the character must have the spell prepared, or it must be among the character’s known spells, in order to scribe a scroll of that spell.

The Book of Ancient Secrets eldritch invocation states:

You can now inscribe magical rituals in your Book of Shadows. Choose two 1st-level spells that have the ritual tag from any class’s spell list (the two needn’t be from the same list). The spells appear in the book and don’t count against the number of spells you know. With your Book of Shadows in hand, you can cast the chosen spells as rituals. You can’t cast the spells except as rituals, unless you’ve learned them by some other means. You can also cast a warlock spell you know as a ritual if it has the ritual tag.

Nothing in the description of the invocation says that you know the spell, and it actually says such spells don't count against the number of spells you know. It also specifies that you can't cast them except as rituals unless you learn them in some other way (i.e. you can't cast them as regular warlock spells if you haven't learned them as a warlock specifically). Thus, since they're not added to your regular known spells, you can't craft spell scrolls of them either.