[RPG] Can a persistent spell cast using the Sorcerer’s Metamagic Twinned Spell affect both spells


The description for the Sorcerer Metamagic Twinned Spell says:

When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip).

To be eligible, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level. For example, magic missile and scorching ray aren’t eligible, but ray of frost and chromatic orb are.

The general upswing is the Sorcerer can cast two Mage Armor or two Suggestion spells. Something with instantaneous results. But what happens when the spell has follow up abilities?

The situation came up when a Cleric/Divine Soul Sorcerer cast a Twinned Spiritual Weapon (in the form of a hammer).

As a bonus action on your turn, you can move the weapon up to 20 feet and repeat the attack against a creature within 5 feet of it.

Can the Sorcerer move and attack them independently? Or use one Bonus Action to move attack one round and wait until the next round to move/attack the other?

I found a similar spell, and this one directly effects a creature: Dominate Beast.

You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target. Until the end of your next turn, the creature takes only the actions you choose, and doesn't do anything that you don't allow it to do. During this time, you can also cause the creature to use a reaction, but this requires you to use your own reaction as well.

Can the Sorc control both beasts in the same round?

Best Answer

Spiritual Weapon (Hammer) can not be twin cast

It doesn't target a creature at all, so it is not twinnable.

Dominate Beast is eligible, and presents a sticky situation

As you've quoted, the language of dominate beast states:

You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target.

Spell is twinned for two targets, but the spell language doesn't change

Once twinned, you now have two beasts under your control, but unless you have a means for a second action, you only have one action available to control one beast. The twinning of the spell only allows you to target two creatures, it does not change the wording of the spell used.

This means you are still limited to controlling one beast with your action.

The argument for allowing it

The other side of this is that with Twin, you aren't casting two spells, but just one spell that has two targets. Anything you do afterwards would be twinned as well and thus a single action would be sent to both beasts.

So...DM call

Unfortunately, this does seem like it can be a DM decision and what feels right at your table. There is reasonable logic for each case.