[RPG] Can a petrified character drown


At the end of our last gaming session my character was fighting a Gorgon in a pool of chest height water.

I had the terrible misfortune of being knocked down and then petrified (turned to stone)

Can I drown now even though I've been turned to stone?

Best Answer

No, you can't drown

The first of the rules for the petrified condition states:

A petrified creature is transformed, along with any nonmagical object it is wearing or carrying, into a solid inanimate substance (usually stone). Its weight increases by a factor of ten, and it ceases aging.

Since the petrified creature is an inanimate substance, they don't have to breathe and couldn't even if they wanted to. If you don't have to breathe, you can't drown or suffocate.

As mentioned by Willem Renzema in the comments, the basic rules do have an entry for objects:

When characters need to saw through ropes, shatter a window, or smash a vampire's coffin, the only hard and fast rule is this: given enough time and the right tools, characters can destroy any destructible object.

Use common sense when determining a character's success at damaging an object. Can a fighter cut through a section of a stone wall with a sword? No, the sword is likely to break before the wall does.

For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects.

The last sentence would cover a petrified adventurer.