[RPG] Can a Sorcerer use Sorcery Points to create spell slots higher than he can cast


At level 6, a Sorcerer may have a maximum of 6 Sorcery Points. This is enough to create a level 4 spell slot. Would the Sorcerer be able to create a level 4 spell slot, even though he only knows level 3 spells, in order to cast a spell with a higher slot (such as Fireball to add an extra 1d6 to the damage and make it hard to Counter Spell)?

Best Answer


The sorcerer's Flexible Casting class feature allows the sorcerer to expend 6 points to create a level 4 spell slot and the sorcerer can use that slot to cast a lower-level spell that he knows.

There is no restriction on creating or using spell slots of a higher level -- the only restriction is that you don't get those slots back on a long rest. On the other hand, if you have the slots, you can use them, even if your current class level doesn't explicitly grant them. Also keep in mind that slots created with sorcery points always disappear after a long rest.

This is further reinforced by the rules for multiclassed spellcasters, quoted below, which state that if you have slots higher than a level you can cast, you can use them for your lower-level spells.

If you have more than one spellcasting class, this table might give you spell slots of a level that is
higher than the spells you know or can prepare. You can use those slots, but only to cast your lower-level spells.