[RPG] Can a wizard copy spells from another’s spellbook


Supposing either a wizard acquires and deciphers the spellbook of a slain enemy, or an ally shows him an unfamiliar one — could the wizard copy said spell for his own use rather than from a spell scroll?

Best Answer


See PHB p.114, "Your Spellbook." This sidebar describes all of the conditions necessary for copying a spell into your spellbook. None of the requirements (time, money, level) care about the storage medium of the spell you found.