[RPG] Can a wizard’s level-up spells choices be from outside their school


Does a wizard have to choose spells from their school? I understand scrolls or other methods could come in to play to learn specific spells through interaction with the world. But what are the requirements for new spells learned from gaining a level?

For instance I've just advanced to level six and I am an evocation wizard choosing two new spells. Can I choose from any spell from the wizard spell book or must it be an evocation spell?

Best Answer

Yes, you can copy and learn spells from other schools.

From PHB 114.

Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a level for which you have spell slots and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it.


Learning Spells of 1st Level and Higher. Each time you gain a wizard level, you can add two wizard spells o f your choice to your spellbook. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots, as shown on the Wizard table.

As stated (or lack of), there is no limitation about schools in this edition.