[RPG] Can Alchemist’s Fire be used as a permanent torch


Very much related: How long does Alchemist's Fire burn?

An answer on the linked post leads to suggest that Alchemist's Fire burns as long as it is not actively extinguished by somebody.

However, a comment on the same answer indicated that Alchemist's Fire doesn't release light, because light isn't mentioned with the description of the item.

I'm looking for any RAW material that indicates whether or not Alchemist's Fire produces light, and how long it can burn for on an inflammable object.

If there is no such material, then I am even willing to accept information from prior versions that cover this same information.

If there is no information on Alchemist's Fire itself, then a RAI answer can be acceptable if it includes the process with how Alchemist's Fire is made (to draw a conclusion about what kind of light/duration could be expected).

Alchemist's Fire in 5e, per the description under "Adventuring Gear":

This sticky, adhesive fluid ignites when exposed to air. As an action, you can throw this flask up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. […] The target takes 1d4 fire damage at the start of each of its turns. A creature can end this damage by using its action to make a DC 10 Dexterity check to extinguish the flames.

Best Answer

There is no rule. It's up to your DM.

Don't mistake the game's rules (or lack thereof) for laws of physics in the D&D universe.

There are a lot of areas where the rules don't get specific about every detail of how something works because it's not, generally speaking, important. This is one of those areas.

For the purpose of using alchemist's fire in a fight, it burns for some indefinite amount of time that exceeds the length of the fight. Even two minutes is usually much longer than any fight lasts, so 'until extinguished' is sufficient definition for that purpose.

Similarly, presumably the flame produces some amount of light, but how much isn't specified, so it's left up to the DM to decide. That doesn't mean it produces no light. It just means it's not specified.