[RPG] Can an illusion be seen in a mirror


In Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition, can the visual effect produced by a magical illusion be seen in a mirror or other reflective surface?

A specific example would be Minor Illusion. This question is motivated in part by the ruling that such an illusion does not shed light and cannot illuminate an area.

Best Answer

There's no reason why you wouldn't be able to

Unless an illusion says that it only appears in a target's mind, then it actually takes a visible form for all to see, so there is no reason why it wouldn't show up in a mirror or any other reflective surface.

And even if it does appear just in the target's head, it is still projecting its presence into the person's head, so there is no reason for it to not also appear in the mirror as far as the target is concerned.