[RPG] Can Dispel Magic be used on Geas


At the end of the Geas spell description it is stated that

You can end the spell early by using an action to dismiss it. A remove curse, greater restoration or wish also ends it.

So the question is: is the spell Geas dispelled by Dispel Magic?

When it is casted using a spell slot of 9th level, the spell is permanent and

lasts until it is ended by one of the spells mentioned above.

Once again, is it ended by Dispel Magic in this case?

Best Answer

The description of Dispel Magic is as follows:

Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends. For each spell of 4th level or higher on the target, make an ability check using your spellcasting ability. The DC equals 10 + the spell’s level. On a successful check, the spell ends.

At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 4th level or higher, you automatically end the effects of a spell on the target if the spell’s level is equal to or less than the level of the spell slot you used.

Note that it specifically says it can end any spell. Geas doesn't provide any exception to this; it just says that it can be ended by the spells you listed. Compare it to, for example, Forcecage, which includes the following line:

This spell can't be dispelled by dispel magic.

If Geas was meant to be impossible to dispel with Dispel Magic, it would include a similar line.