[RPG] Can Green-Flame Blade take advantage of the whip’s Reach property


The spell "Green-Flame Blade" is listed as a cantrip, presumably for the Bladesinger Arcane tradition and has a range of 5ft. In addition, the components for the spell are V, M (weapon) The spell reads:

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must
make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature
within the spell's range, otherwise the spell fails.

If using a whip (Finesse, Reach) , as part of the Snake style of the Bladesinger, can this spell be cast if the target is 10 feet away from the Wizard?

Meaning, does the target of the spell have to be within 5 feet of the weapon used to make the melee attack, or does it need to be within 5 feet of the caster?

Best Answer

It is possible by taking a feat

As Dungarth explains, the range of the spell limits the caster to use the weapon attack on a creature within range of the spell.

The range of Green Flame Blade is 5 ft, and requires the caster to make an attack roll with your weapon, so even though the range of your weapon is 10 ft, the spell's restriction still applies. BUT, read the first bullet of the Spell Sniper feat:

When you cast a spell that requires you to make an attack roll, the spell's range is doubled.

That means that, if you take the Spell Sniper feat, a target is in fact in range at up to 10 ft, meaning that you can utilize any reach weapon with the spell. However, the secondary target of the spell must still be within 5 ft of the original target, as the restriction is not based on the range of the spell.

Update: Jeremy Crawford has confirmed on twitter that it works: https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/663511408269627392