[RPG] Can Hound of Ill Omen from Xanathar’s Guide be used while raging


One of my players enjoys experimenting with a lot of characters. He was tinkering with a sorcerer/barbarian multiclass and asked me if it would be possible to expend sorcery points while raging, especially to summon the Hound of Ill Omen from the shadow sorcerer subclass from Xanathar's Guide. Does expending sorcery points count as casting a spell in this instance?

Best Answer

Yes you can use sorcery points while raging

Rage prevents casting spells while raging:

If you are able to cast spells, you can’t cast them or concentrate on them while raging.

However, using sorcery points is not casting a spell and thus is not forbidden by rage. A spell would say that it is a spell and/or that you are casting it. Hound of Ill Omen says no such thing.

Very similar to smiting while raging

This is basically the same case as a paladin using divine smite while raging.

when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one spell slot to deal radiant damage

This is a case that Jeremy Crawford has ruled to be within the rules

Divine smite is not a spell, yet it is fueled by spell slots. Because it is not a spell, it is not affected by things like Rage that prevent spellcasting.

If spell slots can be used, there is no reason why sorcery points couldn't.

Related Topic