[RPG] Can Mage Hand drop Magic Stones on an enethe


Can a warlock cast magic stone on 3 pebbles as a bonus action then subsequently cast mage hand to fly the stones over an enemy and drop them to deal 3d6 damage on hit? If so, what, if any, would be the modifiers applied to them? If not, then please explain why.

Best Answer

Mage Hand cannot do this

There are no rules that allow things to be dropped to deal damage. A GM may allow it (and this question reveals the lack of rules for this situation while this question discusses how non damaging a small object like a pebble would likely be.), but you would not use the modifiers from the spell because:

You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it.

Not only is the mage hand not "someone else" (it's a spell effect), dropping it doesn't qualify and mage hand is unable to make attacks...

The hand can't attack, activate magic items, or carry more than 10 pounds.

Even dropping the rocks should be considered an attack which makes it impossible for a mage hand to accomplish.

If your GM does allow it, it will be up to them what modifiers to use.