[RPG] Can non-concentration spells with a duration be cast multiple times from one Spellwrought Tattoo


Tasha's Cauldron of Everything contains the wondrous item spellwrought tattoo, which allows you to cast a spell:

Once the tattoo is there, you can cast its spell, requiring no material components. The tattoo glows faintly while you cast the spell and for the spell's duration. Once the spell ends, the tattoo vanishes from your skin.

An instantaneous spell like fireball would end immediately after dealing damage. A concentration spell would end as soon as you cast another concentration spell. What happens if you cast a non-concentration spell with a duration from the tattoo – blindness/deafness, for example? Can you then cast it again on the next turn (or on the same turn, with Action Surge), assuming that the first target hasn't successfully saved to end the spell?

Best Answer


Nothing about the description prohibits this course of action. The description states:

Once the tattoo is there, you can cast its spell, requiring no material components.

So if a spell has not yet ended, and the tattoo is still there, you can keep casting the spell as many times as your action economy allows.

You mention blindness/deafness, which is definitely one very strong application of the tattoo, but I think the strongest use would be a spellwrought tattoo of planar binding. Not only would this allow you to cast a 5th level spell throughout the entire day, it also removes the need for the expensive material component that is often a fairly limiting characteristic of the spell. As such, see below:

This might be more powerful than the magic item should be

The spellwrought tattoo is essentially functioning as a variant of a spell scroll, with the same rarity for the same spell level. As such, a DM may remove the RAW capability of the tattoo to cast a spell multiple times in the way you suggest to bring it more in line with how a spell scroll works.