[RPG] Can someone unintentionally cast a spell into a Ring of Spell Storing

dnd-5emagic-items

I am looking for a clarification. As per the DMG (p.192), the Ring of spell storing is "charged: when:

Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect, other than to be stored in the ring.

My question is this: If someone (the party rogue for example), were to touch an enemy caster with the ring during their casting of a spell, would the ring's "charging" effect happen?

It is my understanding that if it does, one of the following two effects would take place:

  1. The ring would store the spell if there is enough space.

  2. The ring would cause the spell to fail, as per the next sentence in the DMG:

    If the ring can't hold the spell, the spell is expended without effect.

Now I am looking for a RAW or RAI answer, as I am fully aware that as a DM I can override if I think it is necessary.

Best Answer

Emphasis mine:

Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect, other than to be stored in the ring.

It does not say that any spell cast while touching it must be stored into the ring. Interpreting it like that would mean that a caster wearing this ring would be basically unable to use many of their spells.

This would not only require twisting the RAW wording (by using a non standard definition of "can"), but also feels like against RAI in your example: an item that could be used to repeatedly cancel the casting of any spells under 5th level that only requires a reaction to use and that is never expended is by comparison way stronger than everything else in the rare category. Compare that to the legendary Ring of Spell Turning which merely grants advantage on saving throws and counters spells completely only when you get a natural 20. Or compare with Rod of Absorption which is very rare and has a limited number of charges.