[RPG] Can Storm Sphere’s bonus action be used on the same turn the spell is cast


I am wondering whether one could cast Storm Sphere as an action, and in the same turn immediately follow it up with the spell's bonus action to deal more damage.

I have a feeling this doesn't work, going by the PHB's rule on bonus-action spells (emphasis mine):

A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. (PHB, p. 202)

But I wanted to check and make sure, in case there's a slim chance the wording intends to mean if you begin a turn with a bonus action, you can't follow the bonus action up with a non-cantrip spell.

Best Answer

You can use it

The rule on bonus action spells only applies to casting new spells, not the actions or bonus actions enabled by spells. As long as storm sphere is active, you can use it's effect as a bonus action. This in no way restricts your spellcasting as it is not actually casting a bonus action spell.