[RPG] Can the caster of Time Stop still use their bonus action or reaction


The spell time stop states:

No time passes for other creatures, while you take 1d4 + 1 turns in a row, during which you can use actions and move as normal.

I am wondering what counts as "actions" in the above quote, is it only your action, or also bonus actions and reactions.

Can the caster of time stop still use their bonus actions and reactions during stopped time?

Best Answer

RAW - Yes, a time stop user has both bonus action and reaction available

while you take 1d4 + 1 turns in a row

Emphasis mine. A turn is what let's a character do anything in a round of combat, and there's nothing in the wording of timestop to suggest that the turns you experience during time stop are unusual in any way, just that they happen one after the other

Let's see what the PHB has to say about turns:

On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action.

The PHB then goes on to state that

Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional action on your turn called a bonus action... You can take only one bonus action on your turn

Again, emphasis mine. Given that you're taking multiple turns through timestop, this reads that you should get your bonus action.

As for your reaction:

A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else's

When you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn.

Admittedly, your usages of reaction actions are relatively limited within your own turn, but it's still there.