[RPG] Can the Immovable Object spell target an object held or worn by an opponent


The description of the immovable object spell says (Explorer's Guide to Wildemount, p. 187):

You touch an object that weighs no more than 10 pounds and cause it to become magically fixed in place. […]

Can immovable object target a piece of armor or the weapon of a target creature?

For example, can I touch a guard's helmet and make it immovable, in order to restrain him? If so, is there a save, or is it a simple spell attack?

Best Answer

You can't freely touch an object worn by your enemy

The immovable object spell description has no attack roll involved. You always cast it successfully.

This is consistent with other non-combat spells:

You touch a closed door, window, gate, chest, or other entryway, and it becomes locked for the duration (arcane lock)

A flame, equivalent in brightness to a torch, springs forth from an object that you touch (continual flame)

On the contrary, combat spells (by "combat spells" I mean spells which are intended to be used in combat in order to directly harm or hinder an opponent) usually have some kind of attack roll or saving throw:

Your touch inflicts disease. Make a melee spell attack against a creature within your reach (contagion)

Normally you can choose an object worn by your enemy unless the spell description says otherwise. However, if a spell requires you to touch an object, you must have an access to this object in order to touch it. Being able to freely touch the object is a requirement, not a "fluff". You can't freely touch a sword your enemy is actively swinging.

It's the same reason why you can't manipulate object worn or carried by your enemies — for instance, we assume you can't push a button on an immovable rod your enemy is carrying, regardless of the fact there is no "this item must not be worn or carried" phrase in the magic item description.

The spell description will probably be fixed

The spell description is ambiguous in its current state. It should be clarified in the upcoming errata one way or another:

  • If you can't target worn or carried objects, this should be said explicitly in order to avoid confusion
  • If you can target worn or carried objects, and there actually was the intent behind the spell, the spell description must include mechanical consequences of such an application. Can you fight with a immovable sword, if you don't move away more than 10 ft? The spell description doesn't answer this in its current state.

Your DM will probably ban this spell in its current state

Your DM will probably either ban the spell completely (as Aaron3468 did), or rationalize you can't freely touch worn/carried objects (as I did). Otherwise the spell becomes super-effective (read "too overpowered for its low level") exclusively as a combat spell, which I believe wasn't the designer's intent.