[RPG] Can the Thorn Whip cantrip fulfill the requirement for the third benefit of the Mobile feat?

attackdnd-5efeatsmelee-combatspells

As stated in the description for the thorn whip cantrip (PHB, p. 282), the caster makes a "melee spell attack" against the target.

You create a long, vine-like whip covered in thorns that lashes out at your command toward a creature in range. Make a melee spell attack against the target.

The third benefit of the Mobile feat says (PHB, p. 168):

When you make a melee attack against a creature, you don’t provoke opportunity attacks from that creature for the rest of the turn, whether you hit or not.

Given that the third benefit of the Mobile feat only requires a melee attack to be made to avoid provoking opportunity attacks (without specifying the type of melee attack), would that cantrip fulfill the trigger for Mobile?

In other words:
Is a spell melee attack considered a "melee attack" for the purpose of the Mobile feat?

Best Answer

Yes.

Besides seeming obvious, Jeremy Crawford also answered a question about this in regard to Cleric's Touch of Death.

A melee spell attack is, indeed, a melee attack