[RPG] Can the UA ranger’s animal companion get a feat instead of an ASI

animal-companionscharacter-advancementdnd-5efeatsunearthed-arcana

I'm creating a revised beast master ranger and decided to get a pet panther. Since my pet gains ASIs whenever I do and we're using the optional feats rule, then can my pet get feats instead of ASIs too?

Best Answer

No.

When asked if it was the intent to allow the beast companion to take feat instead of ASI, or if he personally would allow it, Jeremy Crawford answered:

No on both counts.

https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/776801113672515584