[RPG] Can True Polymorph transform an object (a tree) into the Champion (CR 9) from Volo’s

dnd-5epolymorphspells

I'm running a high-level Norse-themed adventure with Odin and Thor running around messing up giants.

The Odin-wizard used true polymorph to create a human from an oak log (see the saga), and he wanted it to be the CR9 Champion from Volo's Guide to Monsters (p. 212).

I let him do it because it was cool. I have in my head, however, that the rules only allow an average example of the race – like a human commoner, not a champion, but I can't find the rule or ruling that makes me think that.

Is creating a CR9 human champion a RAW/RAI use of true polymorph?

Best Answer

The true polymorph spell says:

You can turn an object into any kind of creature, as long as the creature’s size is no larger than the object’s size and the creature’s challenge rating is 9 or lower. The creature is friendly to you and your companions. It acts on each of your turns. You decide what action it takes and how it moves. The DM has its statistics and resolves its actions and movement.

Looks to me it says CR 9 or lower, and so creating a CR 9 human Champion (Volo's Guide to Monsters, p. 212) is perfectly legit.

Let the messing up of giants begin.

Related Topic