[RPG] Can you benefit from two different magical shields


Currently looking at tanking options, I understand that you cannot add the AC of 2 shields together. However, it is possible to wield 2 shields. Does this mean you can benefit two different magical properties?

  • Shield 1: +3 Shield
  • Shield 2: Spell Guard Shield. (Attune Required)

So would you gain both:

  • +5 AC from shield 1 (+2 for shield AC and +3 from magic)
  • Advantage of spell saving throws from shield 2 (NO bonus to AC)

Best Answer

No (but your DM can allow it)

Player's Handbook, p.144:

You can benefit from only one shield at a time.

It doesn't say you only gain the AC bonus from one shield, it says you cannot benefit from more than one shield. If you attach a second shield, only one of your shields has effect (unless a more specific rule elsewhere overrides that).

Note that it doesn't say which of your two shields has effect, if you've attached two. You could, arguably, swap between them ambidextrously as benefits you, but there's no particular rule covering this rare case.

Dungeon Master's Guide, p.141:

Multiple Items of the Same Kind

Use common sense to determine whether more than one of a given kind of magic item can be worn. A character can't normally wear more than one pair of footwear, one pair of gloves or gauntlets, one pair of bracers, one suit of armor, one item of headwear, and one cloak.

This doesn't explicitly describe shields, so it doesn't override the general rule that you can only benefit from one shield at a time. The fact that it doesn't say "you can only use one shield" doesn't implicitly mean that you can use two shields, because the general rule for shields is that there can be only one.

However, it does advise the DM to "use common sense", which means that it's up to the DM whether or not you can actually wear and benefit from two shields.