[RPG] Can you cast a spell and use the attack action in the same turn?


Like with a fighter at level 20, you have 3 extra attacks. Can you cast a spell, such as firebolt, and also attack in the same turn?

Best Answer

You can only take 1 action per turn. PHB, page 189:

On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action.

The "Attack" action and the "Cast a Spell" action are both actions, listed on page 192. So if you take the Attack action, you can't also cast a spell that requires 1 action to cast (such as firebolt).

The Fighter's Extra Attack feature does not alter this rule; the wording it uses is that you can attack multiple times when you take the Attack action. It does not grant you extra actions, it merely allows you to make multiple attacks with a single action.

You can take the Attack action and cast a spell that requires a bonus action to cast (such as healing word). To understand how this works, you should read the Bonus Actions section on page 189. (Too long to include here.)