[RPG] Can you cast a spell while holding a shield?


I am a Wizard with 1 multiclass level of Cleric. Can I cast a spell if I have my other hand free? I thought I could but the text of the War Caster feat leads me to believe I might not be able to.

Best Answer


Only spells with a Somatic component require that you have a free hand.

If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures. - Player's Handbook, pg. 203

War Caster states:

You can perform the somatic components of spells even when you have weapons or a shield in one or both hands. - Player's Handbook, pg. 170

It does seem a little odd that the War Caster rules would bother talking about having only one hand full. I believe the purpose of the War Caster feat is to allow you to perform somatic components when you have both hands full.