[RPG] Can you choose a different ability for Hex when changing its target


As a corollary to "Does reactivating Hex have any spell Components?," is the player allowed to choose a different ability when cursing a new creature as a bonus action? RAW, it reads as a no, but a RAI argument could support a yes.

The warlock isn't recasting Hex after the initial contact dies; instead, he maintains concentration on the spell and shifts the focus of the spell to a new target via a bonus action on a subsequent turn. The spell doesn't say it must be shifted on the subsequent turn following the death of the target. Rather, it may be moved on a subsequent turn. Relevant text of Hex follows:

Also, choose one ability when you cast the spell. […] If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature. (PHB p.251, emphasis mine)

Best Answer

No, you can't

You have answered your own question. I understand what you say by RAI could possibly support a "YES", but the RAW clearly does not. You choose how you want the hex to work when you cast it.

Also, Choose one ability when you cast the spell.

The bonus action to move it to a new creature simply moves the hex and doesn't allow or state that you can alter the terms of your Hex.