[RPG] Can you dispel the effects of a potion of heroism


The potion of heroism says:

For 1 hour after drinking it, you gain 10 temporary hit points that last for 1 hour. For the same duration, you are under the effect of the bless spell (no concentration required).

What happens when dispel magic is cast on a person under the effects of this potion?

  • Does the entire potion effect get dispelled?

  • Does only the bless part get dispelled?

  • Does only the non-bless part get dispelled?

  • Or does nothing get dispelled?

Best Answer

Only the bless effect

Dispel magic specifies that it ends...

Any spell ... on the target

While the bless effect is simply a spell effect, it still qualifies as a spell for this purpose as evident by this ruling by Jeremy Crawford, lead designer for 5e:

Dispel magic can be used against a spell effect created by a potion

Some tangential evidence: this answer to another question also addresses that dispel magic can work against spell effects without having to dispel an entire actual spell.

Dispel magic ends a spell on one target. It doesn’t end the same spell on other targets.

So you would dispel any magical effect that is a spell effect, but not the additional effect such as the temporary hit points of the potion of heroism.