[RPG] Can you Enlarge/Reduce the planet you stand on


I won't reprint the spell's text here, but the long and the short of it is that I don't see anything in the text of the spell that would prevent casting it on extremely big objects.

  • The planet sits below the caster and is partially in range
  • If dragon can be hit when partially in range, shouldn't the
  • The planet is an object. It may be covered in other objects and features but by the definition of object we commonly use in 5e, the planet is one

The background: I have a player who wants to solve the problem of an evil city by teleporting to the moon and enlarging it at just the right moment to cause it to be brought, by gravity, to crash into said city.

The question: Can you Enlarge/Reduce the planet you stand on?

Best Answer

A planet is a location, not an object

The rules (DMG, p.246) have this to say about what an object is:

For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects.

The Earth is composed of all sorts of components. Rocks, trees, buildings, people, tectonic plates, oceans, mantle, core, etc. Same goes for the moon. If your average hut or wagon is not an object, what chance does a planet have?