[RPG] Can you maintain a grapple while on a moving mount


You are mounted and you are currently grappling an opponent. Can you maintain the grapple on the opponent, and thus dragging him with you, when your mount is moving?

Best Answer

No, you can not.

The grappling rules state that you can move a target you are grappling:

Moving a Grappled Creature. When you move, you can drag or carry the grappled creature with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you.

But, this applies only to you and your movement.

In D&D 5e, your movement is completely separate from the mount's movement. It even has its own turn distinct from yours; you can only control where it moves. Per the rules on controlling a mount:

The initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. It moves as you direct it, and it has only three action options: Dash, Disengage, and Dodge.

Thus, the mount's movement will not allow you to move the grappled creature, and counts as an effect that removes the grappled creature from your reach:

The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a creature is hurled away by the thunderwave spell.

Related Topic