[RPG] Can you remove a blindfold using the Telekinesis spell

blinddnd-5espellsvision-and-light

Suppose a Sorcerer with Subtle Spell is blindfolded, and has their hands tied behind their back. Could they Subtle cast telekinesis to remove the blindfold?

The relevant part of the spell description:

When you cast the spell, and as your action each round for the duration, you can exert your will on one creature or object that you can see within range, causing the appropriate effect below.

In short, do they see the blindfold when they open their eyes (even if the blindfold is pitch black)?

Best Answer

Yes, but going by RAW you'd have to contest your own strength

The definition of "see" means you can visualise the target or include it in at least one of your sight senses; as the only thing blocking your normal sight is the blindfold, the blindfold is currently in your vision.

However, going by the rules as written, there's a hilarious wrinkle:

If the object is worn or carried by a creature, you must make an ability check with your spellcasting ability contested by that creature's Strength check. If you succeed, you pull the object away from that creature and can move it up to 30 feet in any direction but not beyond the range of this spell.

As there is no listed exception for objects being worn by the person casting Telekinesis, you'd have to contest your own Strength check against your own spellcasting ability to be able to successfully remove the blindfold from yourself.

Of course, this is pretty ludicrous and I imagine most GMs would choose not to enforce that unless you'd really annoyed them that day. :P

Related Topic