[RPG] Can you shield bash for AOO

opportunity-attackpathfinder-1eshield

Are you allowed to make attacks of opportunity with a shield bash?
Or is a better question for this, can/do you threaten with a shield?

Best Answer

Yes

PFSRD Equipment section says:

You can bash with a [heavy or light] shield instead of using it for defense.

Both heavy and light shields are listed as meleé weapons with the only special rule being that an attack with one removes the shield bonus until your next turn.

The Attacks of Opportunity section says:

Threatened Squares: You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your turn.

Because you can attack with a shield, you threaten with a shield.

Related Topic