[RPG] Can you still suffocate in an open bag of holding


I have a player whose PC owns a bag of holding, and as part of a plan, has decided to hide in it for an ambush. According to the DMG, there is about 10 minutes of air inside the bag. The player know this, and has decided to keep the bag 'partially open', so there is a sort of vent to the outside world. For the sake of this question, if the bag is left with the flap open, does a living creature still have to worry about suffocation?

Best Answer

There are 10 minutes of air, regardless of whether the flap is open or not.

Bag of Holding (DMG p153-154)

... Breathing creatures inside the bag can survive up to a number of minutes equal to 10 divided by the number of creatures (minimum 1 minute), after which time they begin to suffocate. ...

Magic items do exactly what they say in their descriptions and nothing else. There is nothing mentioned about leaving a flap open. You should not assume that air can flow freely across the dimensional portal in the bag's opening. This is of course subject to your DM's ruling on the matter.