[RPG] Can you take the same feat multiple times


Can the same character take a given feat multiple times to gain the benefits all over again?

It seems obviously stupid that you can't, but I can't find anywhere in the RAW that actually states that. The closest I get is Elemental Adept's "You can select this feat multiple times" sentence, which implies that most feats can only be taken once.

The feat I'm eyeing very specifically is Magic Initiate, which lets you add a splash of magic from other classes to a given character. If I've read online documents correctly, I can use my core class (sorcerer) spell slots to cast the 1st-level spell I gain access to, which means I could grab shield of faith, use Twinned Spell on that, then turn around and grab the bard's spell list to grab healing word and turn my sorcerer into a semi-support caster.

Best Answer

The general rule is that you can only take each feat once

From page 165 of the Player's Handbook (under "Feats"), or here in the basic rules:

You can take each feat only once, unless the feat's description says otherwise.

The Magic Initiate feat does not list an exception to that rule which means you can only take it once.

Except that the Magic Initiate feat encapsulates a choice of options. You have to pick a class from which you get your spells and cantrips from. It is unclear whether the general rule applies to Magic Initiate as a whole or only to a specific set of options.

I personally would allow a character to take Magic Initiate multiple times provided he picked a different class every time.