[RPG] Can you use Empowered Spell to reroll the healing dice for the Cure Wounds spell

dnd-5ehealingmetamagicsorcererspells

Can the sorcerer's Empowered Spell metamagic option be used to reroll the healing dice for the cure wounds spell (or, for that matter, any healing spell)?

Best Answer

Nope.

Empowered Spell specifically states:

When you roll damage for a spell...

Healing is not damage so empowering spell doesn't apply to healing spells.

The divine soul sorcerer's 6th-level Empowered Healing feature from Xanathar's Guide to Everything, however, does allow you to reroll healing dice. As covered on page 50:

Empowered Healing

Whenever you or an ally within 5 feet of you rolls dice to determine the number of hit points a spell restores, you can spend 1 sorcery point to reroll any number of those dice once, provided you aren't incapacitated.